Loading Events
Find Events

Upcoming Events › Archives

Events List Navigation

October 2017

Online Course: Project Management for History Professionals

October 16 - November 10
$350 - $425

  This class is now full. Please check out our online calendar for future offerings. Do you often juggle several projects, trying to keep each one focused and on track? Project management provides valuable training that will help you organize, manage, and successfully complete projects. This online course shows you how to implement internationally recognized project management principles in a history context. Details:  Format: Online Course Dates: October 16 - November 10, 2017 Cost: $350 AASLH members/$425 nonmembers This class…

Find out more »

Webinar: Best Practices for Developing History Internships

October 24
$40 - $65

Creating an internship program at your historic site can not only benefit your organization, but should also benefit your interns and lets you help develop the next generation of history professionals. This webinar will give you tips and strategies for creating an internship program that both you and your interns will get something out of.  We’ll cover the ethics of internships, best practices for managing interns, and a look at some common challenges and possible solutions. You’ll leave with ideas…

Find out more »

Bringing the Past to the Present: Contemporary Issues at Historic Sites and Museums

October 25
$40 - $65

Are you interested in connecting your site’s history with a current issue? Or wondering how you can use your site to spark dialogue and encourage visitors to take action? Or to navigate sensitive conversations with co-workers and visitors who might be resistant to discussing contemporary topics? This interactive webinar will explore how historic sites and museums can bring contemporary issues to light at their sites. Using Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site as a case study, speakers Lauren Zalut and Annie Anderson will discuss their…

Find out more »
November 2017

Active Collections: How to Create a Leaner Collection for Greater Impact

November 7
$40 - $65

Looking to explore options of what it means to steward leaner, more sustainable collections with greater impact? Join Elee Wood, Rainey Tisdale, and Trevor Jones for a lively interactive discussion of ideas and action items on innovative and possibly unconventional ideas for collections stewardship and management. Topics will include new approaches to collections development, cataloging, policy, deaccessioning.  Participants will gain practical strategies and tools to shape your collection for greater impact. Register Details: Date: November 7, 2017 Time: 3pm Eastern/2pm…

Find out more »

Online Course: Basics of Archives

November 15 - December 15
$85 - $160

The newly revised Basics of Archives online course is designed to give organizations and individuals who are responsible for the care of historical records an introduction to the core aspects of managing and protecting historical records collections, using appropriate principles and best practices. Register Details: November 15-December 15, 2017 15-20 hours to be completed anytime during the above dates. Cost: $85 members/$160 nonmembers Register Full Online Course Description: The newly revised Basics of Archives online course is designed to give…

Find out more »
December 2017

Webinar: Caring for Photograph Collections

December 5
$40 - $65

Photographic media are sensitive materials that require special housing to ensure their longevity. This webinar will examine suitable housing supplies, including paper, plastics, interleaving papers, boxes, and more. Environmental parameters for storage, proper labeling techniques, and safe handling of photographs will also be discussed. Register Details: Date: December 5, 2017 Time: 3pm Eastern/2pm Central/1pm Mountain/12pm Pacific/10am Hawaii/4pm Atlantic Cost: $40 members/$65 nonmembers Closed captioning available upon advanced notice. Please contact info@aaslh.org for more information. Register About the Instructor: Rachel Wetzel received…

Find out more »

Digital Humanities for State and Local History

December 7
$40 - $65

This webinar is designed to introduce digital technologies, approaches, and platforms to those interested in developing digital state and local history in low and no-cost environments. We will define the field, explore a subset of projects that can serve as a model for one’s own, and discuss common issues beginners face in becoming fluent in digital humanities. Digital archiving, storytelling, visualization, and data analysis will all be discussed through explorations of OpenRefine, Scalar, Tableau, Carto, Murkutu, and other tools. In…

Find out more »
+ Export Events