Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Digital Humanities for State and Local History

December 7

| $40 - $65

This webinar is designed to introduce digital technologies, approaches, and platforms to those interested in developing digital state and local history in low and no-cost environments. We will define the field, explore a subset of projects that can serve as a model for one’s own, and discuss common issues beginners face in becoming fluent in digital humanities. Digital archiving, storytelling, visualization, and data analysis will all be discussed through explorations of OpenRefine, Scalar, Tableau, Carto, Murkutu, and other tools. In addition reading lists, hyperlinks, and resources will be shared following the Q&A.

Register

Details:

Date: December 7, 2017

Time: 3-4:15pm EST (starts at 2pm Central/1pm Mountain/12pm Pacific/10am Hawaii/4pm Atlantic)

Cost: $40 for AASLH members/$65 nonmembers

Register

About the Speaker:

Dr. Jennifer Guiliano serves as Assistant Professor in the Department of History and affiliated faculty in Native American Studies at the Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis. She has served as a Post-Doctoral Research Assistant and Program Manager at the Institute for Computing in Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (2008-2010) and as Associate Director of the Center for Digital Humanities (2010-2011) and Research Assistant Professor in the Department of History at the University of South Carolina. Dr. Guiliano currently serves as president of the Association for Computing in the Humanities (ACH). She is  co-director with Trevor Muñoz of the Humanities Intensive Teaching + Learning Initiative (HILT) and as co-author with Simon Appleford of DevDH.org, a resource for digital humanities project development.

 

Register