Loading Events

« All Events

The How-Tos of Digital Collections Management

May 31

| $25 - $65

Guest speaker Leigh Grinstead will walk us through the process of selecting which collections to digitize, policy and strategy development, and caring for digital collections regardless of whether they are born digital or reformatted. Leigh will highlight organizations that can model good practices in each of these three subject areas. She will also discuss lessons learned by organizations that made early mistakes but managed to “right the ship” and transition to a successful digitization program.

Details:
Date: May 31, 2017 at 3pm-4:30pm EST/2pm-3:30pm Central/1pm-2:30pm Mountain/12pm-1:30pm Pacific/10am-11:30am Hawaii/ 4pm-5:30 Atlantic

Cost:$25 StEPs participants (discount code available within the StEPs Community website) |$40 AASLH members | $65 Non-members

Register

Full Description:

Do your organization’s collections hold a treasure trove of photographs, correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, oral histories, videos and other materials that contribute to the rich interpretation of your mission?  Many organizations are interested in digitization for collections preservation and increased access and sharing. But knowing where to begin with digitization is difficult for even the most sophisticated museum, archive or library.

Whether your organization is new to digitization or it has been digitizing materials for years, it is critical that you have guidelines, policies and strategies in place to prioritize the work. The other issue of equal—and sometimes even larger concern—is what to do with collections that originate in digital form, known as “born digital.” How do you evaluate and assess those collections?

Join us on Wednesday, May 31st for the webinar, “The How-Tos of Digital Collections Management,” presented by AASLH’s StEPs program. Guest speaker Leigh Grinstead will walk us through the process of selecting which collections to digitize, policy and strategy development, and caring for digital collections regardless of whether they are born digital or reformatted. Leigh will highlight organizations that can model good practices in each of these three subject areas. She will also discuss lessons learned by organizations that made early mistakes but managed to “right the ship” and transition to a successful digitization program.

 

Register

 

About the Instructor:

 

Leigh Grinstead has been an individual member of AASLH since 1996 and has served on the Historic House Museum Task Force; the Publications, Awards, Standards and Ethics, and Annual Meeting Program committees; as Membership Coordinator for Colorado; and as trainer for the Digitizing Historic Collections workshops. She works as a digital consultant, conducting in-person and online courses for LYRASIS, a nonprofit organization with a mission of supporting information professionals. Leigh consults with and trains cultural heritage staff nationwide in the use of digital technologies, preservation and workflows.

 

 

Register

This webinar is part of the StEPs Lab series of online continuing education offered to both StEPs program participants and all others interested in digital collections. Applying what you learn in a Lab to your policies and practices helps your organization make meaningful progress. The more progress you make, the more boxes you can check off in the StEPs workbook. The more boxes you check off, the more Bronze, Silver, and Gold certificates your organization earns. And that translates into more credibility, more support, and an organization that is a valuable asset to its community for many more years to come.

Visit our Calendar of Events to learn about more AASLH Continuing Education Opportunities.