2022 AASLH Meeting of the Membership

Includes a Live Event on 11/04/2022 at 11:00 AM (EDT)

  • Register
    • Nonmember - Free!
    • Academic Program - Free!
    • Academic Faculty - Free!
    • Academic Student - Free!
    • Partner Institution - Free!
    • Partner Institution Staff - Free!
    • Premier Partner Institution - Free!
    • Premier Institution Staff - Free!
    • Platinum Partner Institution - Free!
    • Platinum Institution Staff - Free!
    • Complimentary - Free!
    • Individual - Free!
    • Subscription - Free!
    • Institutional Budget - Free!
    • Institutional Staff - Free!


Join us online for the 2022 Annual Business Meeting of the association on Friday, November 4, 11 AM Eastern. We’ll update you on the state of AASLH and the field and welcome new Council members while recognizing those who have served. Bring your questions for AASLH Chair Norman Burns, President & CEO John Dichtl, Secretary Dina Bailey, and Treasurer Rebekah Beaulieu. 


DATE: November 4, 2022

TIME: 11:00 - 11:45 am EASTERN (Remember to adjust for your time zone)

ACCESS: You will be provided with instructions on how to access the live event upon registration.

Recording and Captioning

We will record this event. Real-time captioning is provided for the live event. 

How to Register

You will need your membership profile username and password to register. If you do not know your username and password, please email membership@aaslh.orgClick to view instructions on how to register yourself or another user for this event.

Norman Burns

Chair, American Association for State and Local History (AASLH)

President and CEO, Conner Prairie Museum

Email: nburns@connerprairie.org

Norman Burns, President and CEO of Conner Prairie Museum in Fishers, Indiana, has been actively involved in museum administration and entrepreneurial leadership, fund raising, preservation, conservation, education, and cultural heritage tourism for over 34 years. As the CEO and Executive Director of six different historic properties and general museums in Tennessee, Virginia and Indiana, he has successfully developed nationally recognized-award winning programs, and created innovative approaches and compelling visions for operating history and general museums. Burns has served on various boards and committees for local, state, regional, and national cultural organizations including  AAM Accreditation and MAP programs, and is the Chair for the American Association for State and Local History. 


John Dichtl

President and CEO

American Association for State and Local History (AASLH)

Email: dichtl@aaslh.org

John Dichtl became AASLH President & CEO in 2015. Prior to that he was the executive director of the National Council on Public History (NCPH) for nine years, and worked for the Organization of American Historians for fourteen years as deputy director and in several other roles. John received his MA and PhD in early American history from Indiana University, and from 2006 to 2015 was an adjunct faculty member of the history department at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis. Before graduate school he worked for the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee. He is a 2004 graduate of the Seminar for Historical Administration, a program that stems from an AASLH partnership with the Indiana Historical Society and other organizations. John helped to found the History Relevance Campaign, the International Federation for Public History, and is active in the National Coalition for History.

Dina Bailey

Secretary, American Association for State and Local History (AASLH)

CEO, Mountain Top Vision

Dina Bailey is the CEO of Mountain Top Vision, a consulting company that works with organizations on trainings and strategic initiatives that support more inclusive communities. She has been the Director of Methodology and Practice for the International Coalition of Sites of Conscience, the inaugural Director of Educational Strategies at the National Center for Civil and Human Rights, and the Director of Museum Experiences at the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, and a high school English teacher at Pike High School. Dina holds a Bachelors in Middle and Secondary Education, a Masters in Anthropology of Development and Social Transformation, and a graduate certificate in Museum Studies. She has been an adjunct professor at Johns Hopkins University and has been published in both the formal education and museum fields. Dina is proud to be the Secretary of the American Association for State and Local History, the Board Chair of Next Generation Men and Women, and the Chair-Elect of the American Alliance of Museums’ Education Committee. 

​Rebekah Beaulieu

Treasurer, American Association for State and Local History (AASLH)

AASLH Online Course Instructor

Email: becky@flogris.org

Rebekah Beaulieu, Ph.D. is the Director of the Florence Griswold Museum in Old Lyme, Connecticut. She is an Accreditation Commissioner for the American Alliance of Museums and an active Peer Reviewer for AAM’s Accreditation/MAP programs, IMLS, and the NEH; and is chair of AAM’s Historic Houses and Sites Professional Network, vice-president of the New England Museum Association, and a board member of Connecticut Humanities. She has also served on the faculty of AASLH’s History Leadership Institute and is the author of Financial Fundamentals for Historic House Museums (2017). Beaulieu holds an undergraduate degree in American Studies and Art History from the George Washington University, Masters degrees in Art History and Museum Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and in Arts Administration from Columbia University, and a doctorate in American Studies from Boston University, with a dissertation a the study of financial models in historic house museums.

Components visible upon registration.

Click here for instructions on how to register yourself or another user for this event. 

If you have any questions, please contact AASLH Professional Development staff at learn@aaslh.org or 615-320-3203.